What a week!!

This first week of home education has been a complete roller coaster   If i’m honest I thought it was going to be easier, but we will get there.  The problems seem to be that everything we look at is either too easy or too hard!! I’m not sure if the weather has anything to do with it either as it’s so hot at the moment.  Also she suffers with hay fever and it’s not been a great week for that.  We have dipped in and out of Maths, English and Science workbooks and on-line games.  We have especially liked Education City.  We have enjoyed the outdoors and visited the park more times than ever before, we have been to the beach and the local castle.

ImageImage

Friday we had a meeting from the Coordinator for Children Missing Education.  Lucky her title does not fit with her role and she came to give us some info on home education.  Then we decided that J has had a tough week with things being so different and to let her chill out for the rest of the day.  Doesn’t help that her eyes are like golf balls even with me sneaking antihistamines in her yoghurt!!

Sunday my niece was christened and I was a godmother.  It’s didn’t go well for J who decided to bash her head off the pew.  Lucky I caught her and stopped her but then she decided to pull clumps of hair from her head and scratch her face.  Managed to get her outside where she ran off and banged her head off a tree.  Luckily I kept it together and took her to the christening reception venue before anyone got there so she could calm down and get familiar with the place.  I had already prepared for the hiccups there, we had wifi (bonus) and I took her own food, so the afternoon went better – and I got to be a god mother without even standing at the font or saying a word, very nice vicar 🙂

Today we had an appointment at the centre for complimentary care.  I was pointed in their direction by a friend and colleague of mine and thought it was worth a shot.  It’s basically hands on healing, which may be a problem because J is very fussy about touch.  So we went and I have never seen anything like it.  The most beautiful old house with grounds all around it, full of vegetable patches, greenhouses, birds, bee’s … J was in heaven.  We met with a lady who gave us a tour and I could see J relax before my eyes.  We then met Gretchen who offered us a drink and some cake and sat and talked to her (it was just a session to get Jamie used to the place), then we moved into the therapy room where J played on the piano and me and Gretchen chatted.  I felt so calm and relaxed and I was so happy to see my daughter like this.  She was calm, relaxed, happy, talkative, she was still quirky but it was such a lovely experience for us.  Anyway she wasn’t totally keen on the touch part but we managed to do “some” and we have an appointment to go back in 2 weeks (which we both can’t wait for).  But they also have a volunteers day on a Wednesday which we are going to try this week, she can plant veg, help in the gardens, keep bee’s, feed birds, cookery and so much more.  This might not be for everyone, but I think (as their website states) this is “an island of calm in a confusing world”.

http://cccare.org/index.htm

 

 

11 thoughts on “What a week!!

  1. I think Home Education is GREAT I’ve been doing it for two years. I writing a blog. I was quite shy at first but now I’m loving it. My blog is How Home Education Changed My Life Forever. If I ever meet Jamie she could help me. How old is she I’m eleven 🙂

  2. What’s your surname. Just because if it’s okay. I’d like to send a shout-out about Jamie in my next blog, that way lots of home edders, like us will find out about your AMAZING blog 🙂 and you and AMAZING Jamie 😀

  3. I have heard good things about the centre before, glad to hear you think it might be of help to Jamie and you too, you need to look after yourself as well lorraine, its a big job youve taken on, hats off to youx

Leave a Reply

