13 miles for Cleo

Jamie has been away for a week so we have had a no meltdown zone!! Not much to write about apart from football, so i thought I would write about some amazing charities I have come across/worked with/working with and some fund raising that we have been doing.

I always support the National Autistic Society wherever possible.  Selling raffle tickets for them and last year myself, my hubby and my brother ran the Great North Run.  My son Joe also ran the Mini North Run.  Between us we managed to raise approximately £2000.  This year I signed up again to run for the Children’s Cancer Ward at The Royal Victoria Infirmary (more on that later).  This year for the NAS I have decided to order this little change box, which I think is doable for most people (lots of charities have them).  For this one you need to email moneybox@nas.org.uk

ImageAnother brilliant charity that I have recently been introduced to is Hearts & Minds http://www.heartsandmindsphones.co.uk/ and I have ordered a pack to start collecting old mobile phones in exchange for an Ipad.  Here is a facebook page link to the Hearts & Mind Charity Events for anyone interested.

  • https://www.facebook.com/HeartsAndMindsEvents

    We have donated some Chewigems for their event on 15th September, so good luck with that.

    I was then introduced to another wonderful page called Toys Aucross America.  It is a farther and son who literally mail toys (mainly cars & trains) to kids across America who are on the Autistic Spectrum.  Again here is there facebook page.  https://www.facebook.com/ToysAUcrossAmerica?fref=ts  When I read the back story to this one it literally made my heart melt and so I will be donating to them the shipping cost of a toy, which is $5.80 (approx £3.50) and a couple of Chewigems 😉 They have made so many autistic kids smile, but they can’t do it without funding, so have a read about what they do and if you donate the shipping cost for a toy and make a kid smile imagine how good you will feel (I know I will).

    Finally my Great North Run this year has gone on hold due to me home educating Jamie and just not having any time to train.  But Joe (my 7 year old) stepped in and said he would like to do it.  Well 7 year olds aren’t allowed – so he has come up with his own idea, check out this new paper clipping.  I am so proud of him.  http://www.whitehavennews.co.uk/news/fearless-volunteers-fall-for-cleo-s-children-cancer-charity-1.1079472

    And congratulations to all the brave ladies that did the sky dive.

    If you would like any more details on any of the charities please get in touch and I will try my best to help.

    If you have any mobile phones that you no longer want the I will happily accept them.  Thanks to those who have already given/promised me some.

    Thanks to everyone who has sponsored Joe, and if you would like to sponsor him please get in touch.

Leave a Reply

